FLA 2020-2021 Board of Directors

On May 15, the Florida Library Association held its annual board of directors transition meeting. All board members, current and new, were recognized for their hard work and the honor bestowed upon them. Congratulations to all of our board members! 

You can watch the Virtual Oath of Office here:



Laura Spears
Assessment Librarian
University of Florida


Vice President/President- Elect

Phyllis Gorshe
Library Director
Dunedin Public Library


Sarah Divine 
Nova Southeastern University - Alvin Sherman Library
Adult Services Librarian II


Donna Vazquez 
Assistant Director; Library Business Services
Florida Gulf Coast University


Director, Region 1

Ava Brillat 
Learning & Research Services Librarian
University of Miami

Director, Region 2

Kresta King
Library Director
Okeechobee County Public Library

Director, Region 3

Christine Patten
Library Director
Seminole County Public Library

Director, Region 4 

Cheryl Wolfe
Administrative Librarian
Tampa-Hillsborough County Public Library

Director, Region 5

Michael Sullivan
Region Manager
Jacksonville Public Library

Director, Region 

Keila Zayas-Ruiz
Sunshine State Digital Network Coordinator
Florida State University

Past President

Eric Head
Citrus County Library System

State Librarian

Amy Johnson, Division of Library & Information Services

ALA Councilor

Heather Sostrom, St. Johns County Public Library System, SJC-BOCC
Branch Manager, Anastasia Island Branch

Planning Committee Chair

Athanasia Fitos
Branch Manager/Librarian 3
Allapattah Branch Library, Miami Dade Public Library System

Advocacy & Legislative Committee Chair

Douglas Crane
Library Director
Palm Beach County Library System

Representative from Florida State University

Leila Gibradze, Florida State University, Goldstein Library
Associate Librarian

Representative from University of South Florida

Natalie Taylor, School of Information, University of South Florida
Assistant Professor