2018 FLA Scholarship Winners

As part of the Florida Library Association’s commitment to education and leadership development, each year 3 graduate scholarships are available to Florida residents attending either the FSU or USF library & information science graduate programs. These talented recipients make a commitment to work in a Florida library for a minimum of one year after graduation as well as to serve on an FLA Committee. This year, we had an incredible pool of very talented and accomplished students who are already making amazing contributions to the library world. We wish we could support all of the applicants!

The FSU Scholarship: Jessica Black  

Jessica’s passion for librarianship came through clearly in her essays, where she wrote ‘I find I am interested in too many MLIS classes to just take 12!’ 

The Bernadette Storck USF Scholarship: Kearin Reid  

Kearin has a background in STEM and found his way to librarianship through his passion for sharing knowledge.

The Minority Scholarship: Danielle Flores  

Danielle is the ALA President of the Student Organization of Library Information Science.  Her work focuses on paving the way for other under-represented women in librarianship.

The Deborah Robinson Scholarship: Shedriek Battle  

For this scholarship, we looked for an applicant who displayed leadership, enthusiasm, and commitment to collaboration and service within the library community; someone who would honor Deborah Robinson's legacy.  We are proud to award Shedriek Battle for this one-time scholarship. Shedriek has worked in public libraries for nearly 14 years and has done wonderful work reaching out to community organizations for collaboration.  His passion for communities is something that honors the spirit of Deborah Robinson very well. 

Congratulations to our 2018 FLA Scholarship Winners!